Frank Sinatra – Frank Albert Sinatra And Antonio Carlos Jobim (1967)

Francis Albert Sinatra & Antônio Carlos Jobim is a 1967 album by Frank Sinatra and Antônio Carlos Jobim. The tracks were arranged and conducted by Claus Ogerman, accompanied by a studio orchestra. Along with Jobim’s original compositions, the album features three standards from the Great American Songbook, (“Change Partners”, “I Concentrate on You”, and “Baubles, Bangles and Beads”) arranged in the bossa nova style.

Sinatra and Jobim followed up this album with sessions for a second collaboration, titled Sinatra-Jobim. That album was briefly released on 8-track tape (Reprise 8FH 1028) in 1969 before being taken out of print at Sinatra’s behest, due to concerns over its sales potential. Several of the Sinatra-Jobim tracks were subsequently incorporated in the Sinatra & Company album (1971) and the Sinatra–Jobim Sessions compilation (1979). In 2010 the Concord Records label issued a new, comprehensive compilation titled Sinatra/Jobim: The Complete Reprise Recordings.

At the 10th Annual Grammy Awards in 1968, Francis Albert Sinatra & Antônio Carlos Jobim was nominated for the Grammy Award for Album of the Year, but lost to the Beatles Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band. Sinatra had won the previous two Grammy awards for album of the year, in 1967 and 1966.

Track Listing:

“The Girl from Ipanema” (Antônio Carlos Jobim, Norman Gimbel, Vinícius de Moraes) – 3:00
“Dindi” (Ray Gilbert, Jobim, Aloysio de Oliveria) – 3:25
“Change Partners” (Irving Berlin) – 2:40
“Quiet Nights of Quiet Stars (Corcovado)” (Jobim, Gene Lees) – 2:45
“Meditation (Meditação)” (Jobim, Gimbel, Newton Mendonça) – 2:51
“If You Never Come to Me (Inútil Paisagem)” (Jobim, Gilbert, de Oliveira) – 2:10
“How Insensitive (Insensatez)” (Jobim, Gimbel, de Moraes) – 3:15
“I Concentrate on You” (Cole Porter) – 2:32
“Baubles, Bangles and Beads” (Robert C. Wright, George Forrest, Alexander Borodin) – 2:32
“Once I Loved (O Amor em Paz)” (Jobim, Gilbert, de Moraes) – 2:37

AllMusic Review: By 1967, bossa nova had become quite popular within jazz and traditional pop audiences, yet Frank Sinatra hadn’t attempted any Brazil-influenced material. Sinatra decided to record a full-fledged bossa nova album with the genre’s leading composer, Antonio Carlos Jobim. Arranged by Claus Ogerman and featuring Jobim on guitar and backing vocals, Francis Albert Sinatra & Antonio Carlos Jobim concentrated on Jobim’s originals, adding three American classics — “Baubles, Bangles and Beads,” “Change Partners,” and “I Concentrate on You” — that were rearranged to suit bossa nova conventions. The result was a subdued, quiet album that used the Latin rhythms as a foundation, not as a focal point. Supported by a relaxed, sympathetic arrangement of muted brass, simmering percussion, soft strings, and Jobim’s lilting guitar, Sinatra turns in an especially noteworthy performance; he has never sounded so subtle, underplaying every line he delivers and showcasing vocal techniques that he never had displayed before. Francis Albert Sinatra & Antonio Carlos Jobim doesn’t reveal its pleasures immediately; the album is too textured and understated to be fully appreciated within one listen. After a few plays, the album begins to slowly work its way underneath a listener’s skin, and it emerges as one of his most rewarding albums of the ’60s. — Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Schill Score: 9/10

Listen to Album on Spotify

Frank Sinatra – Songs For Swingin’ Lovers! (1956)

Songs for Swingin’ Lovers! is the tenth album by American singer Frank Sinatra and his fourth for Capitol Records. It was arranged by Nelson Riddle and released in March 1956 on LP and January 1987 on CD. It was the first album ever to top the UK Albums Chart. This album was arranged by Nelson Riddle, and took a different tack after In the Wee Small Hours (1955), recording existing pop standards in a hipper, jazzier fashion, revealing an overall exuberance in the vein of Songs for Young Lovers and Swing Easy!.

An additional track, “Memories of You”, was recorded during the sessions but ultimately left off the album. (As a slow ballad, it was deemed inappropriate on an album of “swinging” uptempo numbers since the album already included the ballad “We’ll Be Together Again.”) While Sinatra would re-record the song with Axel Stordahl in 1961 for the Point of No Return album, the 1956 recording with Riddle would remain unreleased until its inclusion on the Longines Symphonette album “Sinatra Like Never Before” (SYS-5637), released in September 1973 as a bonus LP in the 10-album boxed set “Sinatra, The Works.” The 1956 recording eventually reached a wider audience when released on The Capitol Years compilation in 1990.

Track Listing

1. “You Make Me Feel So Young”
2. “It Happened in Monterey”
3. “You’re Getting to Be a Habit with Me”
4. “You Brought a New Kind of Love to Me”
5. “Too Marvelous for Words”
6. “Old Devil Moon”
7. “Pennies from Heaven”
8. “Love Is Here to Stay”
9. “I’ve Got You Under My Skin”
10. “I Thought About You”
11. “We’ll Be Together Again”
12. “Makin’ Whoopee”
13. “Swingin’ Down the Lane”
14. “Anything Goes”
15. “How About You?”

Review: For the Majority of the late 40s up through the 70s Sinatra music, while awesome, was all pretty much the same. Very generic formula. But this album broke from the norm. This had huge unique hits like “You Make Me Feel So Young” and “Pennies from Heaven” and “I’ve Got You Under My Skin” which have been staples in American music. This is one of the Sinatra albums that is actually enjoyable to listen to over and over again. There isn’t a bad song on it, and a lot of classics you’d put into a playlist and listen to over and over again

Schill Score: 8.5/10

Listen to the Album on Spotify

Frank Sinatra – In The Wee Small Hours (1955)

In the Wee Small Hours is the ninth studio album by American vocalist Frank Sinatra. It was released in April 1955 by Capitol and produced by Voyle Gilmore with arrangements by Nelson Riddle. All the songs on the album deal with themes such as loneliness, introspection, lost love, failed relationships, depression and night life. In the Wee Small Hours has been called one of the first concept albums. The cover artwork reflects these themes, portraying Sinatra on an eerie and deserted street awash in blue-tinged street lights

Track Listing:

1. “In the Wee Small Hours of the Morning”
2. “Mood Indigo”
3. “Glad to Be Unhappy”
4. “I Get Along Without You Very Well”
5. “Deep in a Dream”
6. “I See Your Face Before Me”
7. “Can’t We Be Friends?”
8. “When Your Lover Has Gone?

Side 2

9. “What Is This Thing Called Love?”
10. “Last Night When We Were Young”
11. “I’ll Be Around”
12. “Ill Wind”
13. “It Never Entered My Mind”
14. “Dancing on the Ceiling”
15. “I’ll Never Be the Same”
16. “This Love of Mine”


Look, Obviously Sinatra is one of the greatest singers of all time, and for about a 30 year period, everything he did was amazing. This album is awesome, but it’s also the height of generic. Most of the songs are old cover songs, and the ones that aren’t were probably written in about 10 minutes. There’s no actual substance to any of the songs. Plus the majority of them actually sound the same. They had the same frame work and sound and just ran with it on almost every one of the songs.

Schill Score: 3/10

Listen to the Album on Spotify