Joe Ely – Honky Tonk Masquerade (1978)

AllMusic Review: As strong as Joe Ely’s self-titled solo debut was, his second album, 1978’s Honky Tonk Masquerade, actually managed to top it, and the album remains one of the great creative triumphs of the Texas singer/songwriter community, as well as a high-water mark in Ely’s career. Displaying a very Texan sense of eclecticism, Honky Tonk Masquerade’s ten tunes run the gamut from beer-stained weepers (the title cut) and late-night declarations of loneliness (“Tonight I Think I’m Gonna Go Downtown”) to barrelhouse rock & roll (“Fingernails”) and honky tonk dance numbers (“West Texas Waltz” and “Cornbread Moon”), and Ely’s simple but expressive delivery makes the most of every song he sings. Ely’s band deserves a special nod as well, especially steel guitarist Lloyd Maines and Ponty Bone on accordion, who can seemingly conjure up an orchestra or a horn section at will. And as strong as Ely’s songs are, he has the good sense to also accept contributions from fellow ex-Flatlanders Butch Hancock and Jimmie Dale Gilmore, whose more introspective lyrical approach makes for a satisfying contrast to Ely’s more down to earth style. Smart without sounding pretentious, and musically ambitious without losing focus or drive, Honky Tonk Masquerade is a superb album that captures Ely and his band at their best. — Mark Deming

Track Listing

All songs by Joe Ely; except as indicated.

Side one

  1. “Cornbread Moon” – 3:29
  2. “Because of the Wind” – 4:02
  3. “Boxcars” (Butch Hancock) – 4:03
  4. “Jericho (Your Walls Must Come Tumbling Down)” (Butch Hancock) – 2:54
  5. “Tonight I Think I’m Gonna Go Downtown” (Jimmie Dale Gilmore, John Reed) – 2:12

Side two

  1. “Honky Tonk Masquerade” – 3:46
  2. “I’ll Be Your Fool” – 2:52
  3. “Fingernails” – 2:13
  4. “West Texas Waltz” (Butch Hancock) – 5:03
  5. “Honky Tonkin'” (Hank Williams) – 3:27

Schill Score:  7.75/10


Listen to Album