Peter Frampton – Frampton Comes Alive (1975)

AllMusic Review: At the time of its release, Frampton Comes Alive! was an anomaly, a multi-million-selling (mid-priced) double LP by an artist who had previously never burned up the charts with his long-players in any spectacular way. The biggest-selling live album of all time, it made Peter Frampton a household word and generated a monster hit single in “Show Me the Way.” And the reason why is easy to hear: the Herd/Humble Pie graduate packed one hell of a punch on-stage — where he was obviously the most comfortable — and, in fact, the live versions of “Show Me the Way,” “Do You Feel Like I Do,” “Something’s Happening,” “Shine On,” and other album rock staples are much more inspired, confident, and hard-hitting than the studio versions. [The 1999 reissue in A&M’s “Remastered Classics” (31454-0930-2) series is a considerable improvement over the original double CD or double LP in terms of sound — the highs are significantly more lustrous, the guitars crunch and soar, and the bottom end really thunders, and so you get a genuine sense of the power of Frampton’s live set, at least the heavier parts of his set, rather than the compressed and flat sonic profile of the old double-disc version. Frampton and the band sound significantly closer as well, even on the softer songs such as “Wind of Change,” and the disc is impressive listening even a quarter century later. Of course, one must take this all with a grain of salt as a concert document — as was later revealed, there was considerable studio doctoring of the raw live tapes, a phenomenon that set the stage for such unofficial hybrid works as Bruce Springsteen’s Live/1975-85 and countless others.] — Bruce Eder

Track Listing

Side one
  1. “Introduction/Something’s Happening” – 5:54
  2. “Doobie Wah” (Frampton, John Headley-Down, Rick Wills) – 5:28
  3. “Show Me the Way” – 4:42
  4. “It’s a Plain Shame” – 4:21
Side two
  1. “All I Want to Be (Is by Your Side)” – 3:27
  2. “Wind of Change” – 2:47
  3. “Baby, I Love Your Way” – 4:43
  4. “I Wanna Go to the Sun” – 7:02
Side three
  1. “Penny for Your Thoughts” – 1:23
  2. “(I’ll Give You) Money” – 5:39
  3. “Shine On” – 3:35
  4. “Jumpin’ Jack Flash” (Mick Jagger, Keith Richards) – 7:45
Side four
  1. “Lines on My Face” – 7:06
  2. “Do You Feel Like We Do” (Frampton, Mick Gallagher, John Siomos, Rick Wills) – 14:15


Schill Score: 9/10


Listen to Album