Sparks – Kimono My House (1974)

AllMusic Review: Arguably one of Sparks’ best albums, 1974’s Kimono My House finds the brothers Mael (Ron wrote most the songs and played keyboards, while Russell was the singing frontman) ingeniously playing their guitar- and keyboard-heavy pop mix on 12 consistently fine tracks. Adding a touch of bubblegum, and even some of Zappa’s own song-centric experimentalism to the menu, the Maels spruce up a sleazy Sunset Strip with a bevy of Broadway-worthy performances here: as the band expertly revs up the glam rock-meets-Andrew Lloyd Webber backdrops, Russell sends things into space with his operatic vocals and ever-clever lyrics. And besides two of their breakthrough hits (the English chart-toppers “This Town Ain’t Big Enough for Both of Us” and “Amateur Hour”), the album features one of their often-overlooked stunners, “Here in Heaven.” Essential. — Stephen Cook

Track Listing:

All tracks are written by Ron Mael, except where noted.

Side one
No. Title Length
1. “This Town Ain’t Big Enough for Both of Us” 3:05
2. “Amateur Hour” 3:37
3. “Falling in Love with Myself Again” 3:03
4. “Here in Heaven” 2:48
5. “Thank God It’s Not Christmas” 5:07
Side two
No. Title Writer(s) Length
6. “Hasta Mañana, Monsieur” Russell Mael, Ron Mael 3:52
7. “Talent Is an Asset” 3:21
8. “Complaints” 2:50
9. “In My Family” Russell Mael, Ron Mael 3:48
10. “Equator” 4:42



Schill Score:  9/10


Listen to Album