The Cars – The Cars (1978)

AllMusic Review: The Cars’ 1978 self-titled debut, issued on the Elektra label, is a genuine rock masterpiece. The band jokingly referred to the album as their “true greatest-hits album,” but it’s no exaggeration — all nine tracks are new wave/rock classics, still in rotation on rock radio. Whereas most bands of the late ’70s embraced either punk/new wave or hard rock, the Cars were one of the first bands to do the unthinkable — merge the two styles together. Add to it bandleader/songwriter Ric Ocasek’s supreme pop sensibilities, and you had an album that appealed to new wavers, rockers, and Top 40 fans. One of the most popular new wave songs ever, “Just What I Needed,” is an obvious highlight, as are such familiar hits as “Good Times Roll,” “My Best Friend’s Girl,” and “You’re All I’ve Got Tonight.” But like most consummate rock albums, the lesser-known compositions are just as exhilarating: “Don’t Cha Stop,” “Bye Bye Love,” “All Mixed Up,” and “Moving in Stereo,” the latter featured as an instrumental during a steamy scene in the popular movie Fast Times at Ridgemont High. With flawless performances, songwriting, and production (courtesy of Queen alumni Roy Thomas Baker), the Cars’ debut remains one of rock’s all-time classics. — Greg Prato

Track Listing

Side one
No. Title Writer(s) Vocals Length
1. “Good Times Roll” Ocasek Ocasek 3:44
2. “My Best Friend’s Girl” Ocasek Ocasek 3:44
3. “Just What I Needed” Ocasek Benjamin Orr 3:44
4. “I’m in Touch with Your World” Ocasek Ocasek 3:31
5. “Don’t Cha Stop” Ocasek Ocasek 3:01
Side two
No. Title Writer(s) Vocals Length
6. “You’re All I’ve Got Tonight” Ocasek Ocasek 4:13
7. “Bye Bye Love” Ocasek Orr 4:14
8. “Moving in Stereo”
  • Ocasek
  • Greg Hawkes
Orr 5:15
9. “All Mixed Up” Ocasek Orr 4:14


Schill Score: 8.5/10


Listen to Album