Frank Sinatra – Songs For Swingin’ Lovers! (1956)

Songs for Swingin’ Lovers! is the tenth album by American singer Frank Sinatra and his fourth for Capitol Records. It was arranged by Nelson Riddle and released in March 1956 on LP and January 1987 on CD. It was the first album ever to top the UK Albums Chart. This album was arranged by Nelson Riddle, and took a different tack after In the Wee Small Hours (1955), recording existing pop standards in a hipper, jazzier fashion, revealing an overall exuberance in the vein of Songs for Young Lovers and Swing Easy!.

An additional track, “Memories of You”, was recorded during the sessions but ultimately left off the album. (As a slow ballad, it was deemed inappropriate on an album of “swinging” uptempo numbers since the album already included the ballad “We’ll Be Together Again.”) While Sinatra would re-record the song with Axel Stordahl in 1961 for the Point of No Return album, the 1956 recording with Riddle would remain unreleased until its inclusion on the Longines Symphonette album “Sinatra Like Never Before” (SYS-5637), released in September 1973 as a bonus LP in the 10-album boxed set “Sinatra, The Works.” The 1956 recording eventually reached a wider audience when released on The Capitol Years compilation in 1990.

Track Listing

1. “You Make Me Feel So Young”
2. “It Happened in Monterey”
3. “You’re Getting to Be a Habit with Me”
4. “You Brought a New Kind of Love to Me”
5. “Too Marvelous for Words”
6. “Old Devil Moon”
7. “Pennies from Heaven”
8. “Love Is Here to Stay”
9. “I’ve Got You Under My Skin”
10. “I Thought About You”
11. “We’ll Be Together Again”
12. “Makin’ Whoopee”
13. “Swingin’ Down the Lane”
14. “Anything Goes”
15. “How About You?”

Review: For the Majority of the late 40s up through the 70s Sinatra music, while awesome, was all pretty much the same. Very generic formula. But this album broke from the norm. This had huge unique hits like “You Make Me Feel So Young” and “Pennies from Heaven” and “I’ve Got You Under My Skin” which have been staples in American music. This is one of the Sinatra albums that is actually enjoyable to listen to over and over again. There isn’t a bad song on it, and a lot of classics you’d put into a playlist and listen to over and over again

Schill Score: 8.5/10

Listen to the Album on Spotify

Comments are closed.