The Isley Brothers – 3+3 (1973)

AllMusic Review: Recorded in 1973, 3 + 3 was a major turning point for the Isley Brothers. With this album, the Isleys moved their T-Neck label from Buddah to Epic/CBS (which became Epic/Sony in the early ’90s), and it was at Epic that they unveiled their new lineup. Lead singer Ronald Isley and his siblings O’Kelly and Rudolph remained, but the Isleys became a sextet instead of a trio when cousin Chris Jasper and younger brothers Ernie and Marvin were added. This new lineup was called 3 + 3, and the addition of Jasper on keyboards, Ernie on guitar, and Marvin on bass added exciting new elements to the Isleys’ sound. One of finest R&B bassists of the 1970s, the ever-so-funky Marvin is in a class with heavyweights like Larry Graham and Louis Johnson — and Ernie is a stunning guitarist who is heavily influenced by Jimi Hendrix but has a distinctive style of his own. The Isleys had always been lovers of rock, but with the addition of Ernie, their sound became even more overtly rock-influenced. Nonetheless, the rock and pop elements didn’t alienate R&B audiences, which ate this album up. The single “That Lady” (which is based on an Impressions-like gem they had recorded in 1964) was a major hit, and the Isleys are equally captivating on soul interpretations of Seals & Crofts’ “Summer Breeze,” James Taylor’s “Don’t Let Me Be Lonely Tonight,” and the Doobie Brothers’ “Listen to the Music.” With this superb album, the Isley Brothers sounded better than ever — and they gained a lot of new fans without sacrificing the old ones. — Alex Henderson

Track Listing

All tracks are written by The Isley Brothers, except where noted.

Side one
No. Title Writer(s) Length
1. “That Lady” 5:35
2. “Don’t Let Me Be Lonely Tonight” James Taylor 4:00
3. “If You Were There” 3:22
4. “You Walk Your Way” 3:08
5. “Listen to the Music” Tom Johnston 4:07
Side two
No. Title Writer(s) Length
6. “What It Comes Down To” 3:54
7. “Sunshine (Go Away Today)” Jonathan Edwards 4:23
8. “Summer Breeze” Jim Seals, Dash Crofts 6:12
9. “The Highways of My Life” 4:17


Schill Score: 7.25/10


Listen to Album

Comments are closed.