Marvin Gaye – Let’s Get It On (1973)

AllMusic Review: After brilliantly surveying the social, political, and spiritual landscape with What’s Going On, Marvin Gaye turned to more intimate matters with Let’s Get It On, a record unparalleled in its sheer sensuality and carnal energy. Always a sexually charged performer, Gaye’s passions reach their boiling point on tracks like the magnificent title hit (a number one smash) and “You Sure Love to Ball”; silky and shimmering, the music is seductive in the most literal sense, its fluid grooves so perfectly designed for romance as to border on parody. With each performance laced with innuendo, each lyric a come-on, and each rhythm throbbing with lust, perhaps no other record has ever achieved the kind of sheer erotic force of Let’s Get It On, and it remains the blueprint for all of the slow jams to follow decades later — much copied, but never imitated. — Jason Ankeny

Track Listing:

Side one
No. Title Writer(s) Length
1. “Let’s Get It On” Marvin Gaye, Ed Townsend 4:44
2. “Please Stay (Once You Go Away)” Gaye, Townsend 3:32
3. “If I Should Die Tonight” Gaye, Townsend 3:57
4. “Keep Gettin’ It On” Gaye, Townsend 3:12
Side two
No. Title Writer(s) Length
1. “Come Get to This” Gaye 2:40
2. “Distant Lover” Gaye, Gwen Gordy, Sandra Greene 4:15
3. “You Sure Love to Ball” Gaye 4:43
4. “Just to Keep You Satisfied” Gaye, Anna Gordy Gaye, Elgie Stover 4:35


Schill Score:  9/10


Listen to Album

Comments are closed.