Thin Lizzy – Live And Dangerous (1978)

AllMusic Review: Released in 1978, just as the hot streak starting with 1975’s Fighting and running through 1977’s Bad Reputation came to an end, Live and Dangerous was a glorious way to celebrate Thin Lizzy’s glory days and one of the best double live LPs of the 70s. Of course, this, like a lot of double-lives of that decade — Kiss’ Alive! immediately springs to mind — isn’t strictly live; it was overdubbed and colored in the studio (the very presence of studio whiz Tony Visconti as producer should have been an indication that some corrective steering may have been afoot). But even if there was some tweaking in the studio, Live and Dangerous feels live, containing more energy and power than the original LPs, which were already dynamic in their own right. It’s this energy, combined with the expert song selection, that makes Live and Dangerous a true live classic. —Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Track Listing

No. Title Writer(s) Length
1. “Jailbreak” Phil Lynott 4:31
2. “Emerald” Brian Downey, Scott Gorham, Lynott, Brian Robertson 4:18
3. “Southbound” Lynott 4:44
4. “Rosalie / Cowgirl’s Song” Bob Seger / Downey, Lynott 4:00
Side two
No. Title Writer(s) Length
5. “Dancing in the Moonlight (It’s Caught Me in Its Spotlight)” Lynott 3:50
6. “Massacre” Downey, Gorham, Lynott 2:46
7. “Still in Love with You” Lynott 7:40
8. “Johnny the Fox Meets Jimmy the Weed” Downey, Gorham, Lynott 3:32
Side three
No. Title Writer(s) Length
1. “Cowboy Song” Downey, Lynott 4:40
2. “The Boys Are Back in Town” Lynott 4:30
3. “Don’t Believe a Word” Lynott 2:05
4. “Warriors” Gorham, Lynott 3:52
5. “Are You Ready” Downey, Gorham, Lynott, Robertson 2:40
Side four
No. Title Writer(s) Length
6. “Suicide” Lynott 5:00
7. “Sha La La” Downey, Lynott 4:18
8. “Baby Drives Me Crazy” Downey, Gorham, Lynott, Robertson 6:36
9. “The Rocker” Eric Bell, Downey, Lynott 3:58


Schill Score: 8.5/10


Listen to Album

Comments are closed.