The Damned – Machine Gun Etiquette (1979)

AllMusic Review: Rejoining forces without Brian James, who pursued his own interests from then on (only hooking up with the band again for a late-’80s “farewell” show), the remaining three brought in young Saints veteran Ward on bass, recorded an album, and hoped for the best. That best proved much better than expected; while singles ended up on the charts, Machine Gun Etiquette itself was deservedly hailed as another classic from the band. Over time, its reputation has grown to equal the original Damned Damned Damned; while no less strong than that record, the Damned here bring in a wide variety of touches and influences to create a record that most of their contemporaries could never have approached. The group’s wicked way around witty punk hadn’t ebbed a bit; the opening cut, “Love Song,” is a hilarious trashing of romantic clichés (sample lyric: “I’ll be the rubbish, you’ll be the bin!”) that barely lasts two minutes, while “Noise, Noise, Noise” and “Liar” work in the same general vein. These, however, only scratch the surface. “Melody Lee,” written by the Captain for a favorite comic character, starts with a lovely piano intro, whereas the celebratory angst of “I Just Can’t Be Happy Today” chugs along with garagey élan and keyboards á la the Electric Prunes. Other prime standouts include “Plan 9 Channel 7,” a Grand Guignol of an epic about James Dean and Vampira with a fantastic Vanian vocal; the merry mayhem of “These Hands” (belonging to a killer circus clown, with appropriate carnival music, of course); and a great rip through the MC5’s “Looking at You.” The best moment was saved for last, though: “Smash It Up,” a two-part number divided between an affecting instrumental tribute to longtime supporter and Captain hero Marc Bolan, and a perfect trash-the-rules-and-party pop/punk/R&B scorcher. —

Track Listing

All tracks are written by Rat Scabies, Captain Sensible, Dave Vanian and Algy Ward, except as noted.

No. Title Writer(s) Length
1. “Love Song” 2:21
2. “Machine Gun Etiquette” 1:48
3. “I Just Can’t Be Happy Today” Scabies, Sensible, Vanian, Ward, Giovanni Dadomo 3:42
4. “Melody Lee” 2:07
5. “Antipope” Scabies, Sensible, Vanian, Ward, Phillip Burns 3:21
6. “These Hands” 2:03
7. “Plan 9 Channel 7” 5:08
8. “Noise, Noise, Noise” Scabies, Sensible, Vanian, Ward, Jennet Ward 3:10
9. “Looking at You” (MC5 cover) Michael Davis, Wayne Kramer, Fred “Sonic” Smith, Dennis Thompson, Rob Tyner 5:08
10. “Liar” 2:44
11. “Smash It Up (Part 1)” 1:59
12. “Smash It Up (Part 2)” 2:53



Schill Score: 8.25/10


Listen to Album