The Stranglers – Rattus Norvegicus (1977)

AllMusic Review: Like the Vibrators, the Stranglers were an older band which managed to gain visibility and success through association with Britain’s punk movement. Musically, the group is much more polished than some of their rawer brethren such as the Adverts and Siouxsie and the Banshees. The Stranglers’ early work is most properly described as stripped-down pop played with a hardcore sensibility; fairly lengthy songs with frequent solo breaks, prominent keyboard usage, and occasional employment of vocal harmony sets them apart from their peers. But snarling lead singing that puts forth macho/critical/distasteful lyrics predominates here, clearly showing the group’s punk affinity. Most of the songs on this album fit the description of hardcore pop to a tee, but there are a few deviations from this model. “Princess of the Streets” is a slow-tempo selection with blueslike echoes. The ambitious “Down in the Sewer” crosses the concept of episodic numbers like the Who’s “A Quick One” with early-’60s instrumentals. And the energetic “London Lady” is almost a true punk song — or at least as close as the band gets to one. While not the equal of their best album, No More Heroes, this release is solid and worthwhile, a rewarding listen. — David Cleary

Track Listing:

Title Writer(s) Length
1. “Sometimes” Hugh Cornwell 4:56
2. “Goodbye Toulouse” Jean-Jacques Burnel 3:12
3. “London Lady” Burnel 2:25
4. “Princess of the Streetsa Burnel 4:34
5. “Hanging Around” Cornwell 4:25
6. “Peaches” Burnel/Cornwell 4:03
7. “(Get A) Grip (On Yourself)” Cornwell 3:55
8. “Ugly” Burnel 4:03
9. “Down in the Sewer” Cornwell 7:30
Total length: 40:05


Schill Score:  6/5/10


Listen to Album