Emmylou Harris – Pieces Of The Sky (1975)

AllMusic Review: Emmylou Harris’ major-label solo debut quickly establishes the pattern that the vast majority of her subsequent work would follow: Pieces of the Sky is bravely eclectic, impeccably performed, and achingly beautiful. Amid a collection of songs that ranks among her most well-chosen — ranging from the catalogs of the Beatles (“For No One”) to Boudleaux and Felice Bryant (“Sleepless Nights”) and the Louvin Brothers (the hit “If I Could Only Win Your Love”) — the record’s centerpiece is one of Harris’ rare original compositions, “Boulder to Birmingham,” her stirring tribute to fallen mentor Gram Parsons. — Jason Ankeny

Track Listing

No. Title Writer(s) Length
1. “Bluebird Wine” Rodney Crowell 3:18
2. “Too Far Gone” Billy Sherrill 4:05
3. “If I Could Only Win Your Love” Charlie Louvin, Ira Louvin 2:36
4. “Boulder to Birmingham” Emmylou Harris, Bill Danoff 3:33
5. “Before Believing” Danny Flowers 4:44
6. “The Bottle Let Me Down” Merle Haggard 3:16
7. “Sleepless Nights” Felice and Boudleaux Bryant 3:25
8. “Coat of Many Colors” Dolly Parton 3:42
9. “For No One” John Lennon, Paul McCartney 3:40
10. “Queen of the Silver Dollar” Shel Silverstein 5:14


Schill Score:  8.5/10


Listen to Album

Comments are closed.