Jimi Hendrix – Electric Ladyland (1968)

AllMusic Review: Jimi Hendrix’s third and final album with the original Experience found him taking his funk and psychedelic sounds to the absolute limit. The result was not only one of the best rock albums of the era, but also Hendrix’s original musical vision at its absolute apex. When revisionist rock critics refer to him as the maker of a generation’s mightiest dope music, this is the album they’re referring to. But Electric Ladyland is so much more than just background music for chemical intake. Kudos to engineer Eddie Kramer (who supervised the remastering of the original two-track stereo masters for this 1997 reissue on MCA) for taking Hendrix’s visions of a soundscape behind his music and giving it all context, experimenting with odd mic techniques, echo, backward tape, flanging, and chorusing, all new techniques at the time, at least the way they’re used here. What Hendrix sonically achieved on this record expanded the concept of what could be gotten out of a modern recording studio in much the same manner as Phil Spector had done a decade before with his Wall of Sound. As an album this influential (and as far as influencing a generation of players and beyond, this was his ultimate statement for many), the highlights speak for themselves: “Crosstown Traffic,” his reinterpretation of Bob Dylan’s “All Along the Watchtower,” “Burning of the Midnight Lamp,” the spacy “1983…(A Merman I Should Turn to Be),” and “Voodoo Child (Slight Return),” a landmark in Hendrix’s playing. With this double set (now on one compact disc), Hendrix once again pushed the concept album to new horizons. — Cub Koda

Track Listing:

All songs written by Jimi Hendrix, except where noted.

Side one
No. Title Length
1. “…And the Gods Made Love” 1:19
2. “Have You Ever Been (To Electric Ladyland)” (“Electric Ladyland” on UK edition gatefold) 2:08
3. “Crosstown Traffic” (“Cross Town Traffic” on UK edition label) 2:25
4. “Voodoo Chile” 14:50
Side two
No. Title Writer(s) Length
1. “Little Miss Strange” Noel Redding 2:47
2. “Long Hot Summer Night” 3:21
3. “Come On (Part 1)” (“Come On” on UK edition) Earl King 4:04
4. “Gypsy Eyes” (“Gipsy Eyes” on UK edition) 3:38
5. “Burning of the Midnight Lamp” 3:33
Side three
No. Title Length
1. “Rainy Day, Dream Away” 3:39
2. “1983… (A Merman I Should Turn to Be)” 13:25
3. “Moon, Turn the Tides….Gently Gently Away” 0:58
Side four
No. Title Writer(s) Length
1. “Still Raining, Still Dreaming” 4:19
2. “House Burning Down” 4:26
3. “All Along the Watchtower” Bob Dylan 3:54
4. “Voodoo Child (Slight Return)” (“Voodoo Chile (Slight Return)” on UK edition) 5:06
Total length: 73:56


Schill Score: 9/10


Listen to Album below


Comments are closed.