The Residents – Duck Stab/Buster And Glen (1978)

AllMusic Review: Sandwiched in between Third Reich and Roll, Eskimo, and The Commercial Album, Duck Stab/Buster & Glen hasn’t always received the fanfare of other late-’70s Residents material. It’s one of the few that isn’t a concept album and probably the least experimental of the bunch. Still, it’s quintessential Residents’ rock — which is to say, it’s like nothing else on the planet. Few of the songs last longer than a couple of minutes, and only a few instruments can be heard at any given time. Rather than relying on guitars, the Residents stick to the relatively primitive synthesizers and electronic gadgets of their time. Chorus chants on “Bach Is Dead” meet with a melody that sounds like a cross between a sixth grader playing recorder and someone scratching on a balloon. Snakefinger’s nasally vocals fit in all too well with their high-pitched electronica, which then somehow merges with funereal marching percussion. It seems annoying and stupid at first, but over time you feel compelled to listen again and again. Such is the glory of the Residents! — Kieran McCarthy

Track Listing

Side one: Duck Stab
No. Title Length
1. “Constantinople” 2:23
2. “Sinister Exaggerator” 3:28
3. “The Booker Tease” 1:04
4. “Blue Rosebuds” 3:08
5. “Laughing Song” 2:12
6. “Bach is Dead” 1:12
7. “Elvis and His Boss” 2:29
Side two: Buster & Glen
No. Title Length
8. “Lizard Lady” 1:54
9. “Semolina” 2:48
10. “Birthday Boy” 2:41
11. “Weight-Lifting Lulu” 3:11
12. “Krafty Cheese” 1:59
13. “Hello Skinny” 2:41
14. “The Electrocutioner” 3:20


Schill Score: 6/10


Listen to Album

Comments are closed.