The Temptations – Cloud Nine (1969)

AllMusic Review: Best known for their silky soul vocals and smooth-stepping routines, the Temptations were firmly entrenched as the undisputed kings of Barry Gordy’s Motown stable when cutting-edge producer Norman Whitfield walked into the studio and announced that it was time to shake things up. The resulting freakout became the first half of the stellar Cloud Nine, an album that would become one of the defining early funk sets, with songs that not only took Motown in a new direction, but helped to shape a genre as well. On one side and across three jams, Whitfield and the Temptations would give ’70s-era funk musicians a broad palette from which to draw inspiration. The title track, with its funky soul bordering on psychedelic frenzy, was an audacious album opener, and surely gave older fans a moment’s pause. Only two more songs rounded out side one: an incredibly fresh take on “I Heard It Through the Grapevine,” which jazzed up the vocals, brought compelling percussion to the fore, and relegated the piano well into the wings, and “Run Away Child, Running Wild,” an extravagant nine-minute groove where the sonics easily surpassed the vocals. After shaking up the record-buying public with these three masterpieces, the Temptations brought things back to form for side two. Here, their gorgeous vocals dominated slick arrangements across seven tracks which included “Hey Girl” and the masterful “I Need Your Lovin’.” Funk continued to percolate — albeit subtly — but compared to side one, it was Temptations business as usual. It was this return to the classic sound, however, which ultimately gave Cloud Nine its odd dynamic. The dichotomy of form between old and new between sides doesn’t allow for a continuous gel. But the brash experimentation away from traditional Motown on the three seminal tracks which open the disc shattered the doorway between past and present as surely as the decade itself imploded and smooth soul gave way to blistering funk. — Amy Hanson

Track Listing:


Side one
No. Title Writer(s) Leads(s) Length
1. “Cloud Nine” Barrett Strong, Norman Whitfield Edwards, Kendricks, P. Williams, Franklin, O. Williams 3:27
2. “I Heard It Through the Grapevine” Strong, Whitfield Edwards, Kendricks 3:00
3. “Run Away Child, Running Wild” Strong, Whitfield Edwards, Kendricks, P. Williams, Franklin, O. Williams 9:38
Side two
No. Title Writer(s) Leads(s) Length
1. “Love is a Hurtin’ Thing” Ben Raleigh, Dave Linden Edwards, Kendricks, Franklin 2:28
2. “Hey Girl” Gerry Goffin, Carole King P. Williams 2:38
3. “Why Did She Have to Leave Me (Why Did She Have to Go)” Strong, Whitfield Edwards 2:56
4. “I Need Your Lovin'” Strong, Whitfield Kendricks 2:35
5. “Don’t Let Him Take Your Love From Me” Strong, Whitfield P. Williams 2:31
6. “I Gotta Find a Way (To Get You Back)” Strong, Whitfield, Eddie Holland, Cornelius Grant, Eddie Kendricks Edwards 3:00
7. “Gonna Keep on Tryin’ till I Win Your Love” Strong, Whitfield Edwards 2:32


Schill Score:  9/10


Listen to Album Below

Comments are closed.