Van Morrison – It’s Too Late To Stop Now (1974)

AllMusic Review: While Van Morrison is, to be kind, an erratic and temperamental live performer, he’s in stellar form throughout the double album It’s Too Late to Stop Now, a superb concert set that neatly summarizes his career from his days with Them (represented by scorching renditions of “Gloria” and “Here Comes the Night”) through 1973’s Hard Nose the Highway (“Warm Love,” “Wild Children”). In addition to the hits, including “Caravan,” “Domino,” and “Into the Mystic” (the final line of which gives the album its title), Morrison even pulls out a handful of R&B chestnuts (“Bring It on Home to Me,” “Ain’t Nothin’ You Can Do”) before capping off the collection with a show-stopping rendition of Astral Weeks’ “Cyprus Avenue.” An engaging, warm portrait of the man at the peak of his powers. — Jason Ankeny

Track Listing

Side one

No. Title Writer(s) Length
1. “Ain’t Nothin’ You Can Do” Joseph Scott 3:44
2. “Warm Love” Van Morrison 3:04
3. “Into the Mystic” Van Morrison 4:33
4. “These Dreams of You” Van Morrison 3:37
5. “I Believe to My Soul” Ray Charles 4:09

Side two

No. Title Writer(s) Length
1. “I’ve Been Working” Van Morrison 3:56
2. “Help Me” Sonny Boy Williamson II, Ralph Bass, Willie Dixon 3:25
3. “Wild Children” Van Morrison 5:04
4. “Domino” Van Morrison 4:48
5. “I Just Want to Make Love to You” Willie Dixon 5:16

Side three

No. Title Writer(s) Length
1. “Bring It On Home to Me” Sam Cooke 4:42
2. “Saint Dominic’s Preview” Van Morrison 6:18
3. “Take Your Hand Out of My Pocket” Sonny Boy Williamson II 4:04
4. “Listen to the Lion” Van Morrison 8:43

Side four

No. Title Writer(s) Length
1. “Here Comes the Night” Bert Berns 3:14
2. “Gloria” Van Morrison 4:16
3. “Caravan” Van Morrison 9:20
4. “Cyprus Avenue” Van Morrison 10:20


Schill Score:  9/10


Listen to Album

Comments are closed.