Tim Buckley – Goodbye And Hello (1968)

Often cited as the ultimate Tim Buckley statement, Goodbye and Hello is indeed a fabulous album, but it’s merely one side of Tim Buckley’s enormous talent. Recorded in the middle of 1967 (in the afterglow of Sgt. Pepper), this album is clearly inspired by Pepper’s exploratory spirit. More often than not, this helps to bring Buckley’s awesome musical vision home, but occasionally falters. Not that the album is overrated (it’s not), it’s just that it is only one side of Buckley. The finest songs on the album were written by him alone, particularly “Once I Was” and “Pleasant Street.” Buoyed by Jerry Yester’s excellent production, these tracks are easily among the finest example of Buckley’s psychedelic/folk vision. A few tracks, namely the title cut and “No Man Can Find the War,” were co-written by poet Larry Beckett. While Beckett’s lyrics are undoubtedly literate and evocative, they occasionally tend to be too heavy-handed for Buckley. However, this is a minor criticism of an excellent and revolutionary album that was a quantum leap for both Tim Buckley and the audience. — Matthew Greenwald

Track Listing:


All songs written by Tim Buckley, except where noted.

Side One

  1. “No Man Can Find the War” (Larry Beckett, Buckley) – 2:58
  2. “Carnival Song” – 3:10
  3. “Pleasant Street” – 5:15
  4. “Hallucinations” (Beckett, Buckley) – 4:55
  5. “I Never Asked to Be Your Mountain” – 6:02

Side Two

  1. “Once I Was” – 3:22
  2. “Phantasmagoria in Two” – 3:29
  3. “Knight-Errant” (Beckett, Buckley) – 2:00
  4. “Goodbye and Hello” (Beckett, Buckley) – 8:38
  5. “Morning Glory” (Beckett, Buckley) – 2:52


Schill Score:  5.5/10


Listen to Album Below



Comments are closed.