Dusty Springfield – Dusty In Memphis (1969)

AllMusic Review: Sometimes memories distort or inflate the quality of recordings deemed legendary, but in the case of Dusty in Memphis, the years have only strengthened its reputation. The idea of taking England’s reigning female soul queen to the home of the music she had mastered was an inspired one. The Jerry Wexler/Tom Dowd/Arif Mardin production and engineering team picked mostly perfect songs, and those that weren’t so great were salvaged by Springfield’s marvelous delivery and technique. This set has definitive numbers in “So Much Love,” “Son of a Preacher Man,” “Breakfast in Bed,” “Just One Smile,” “I Don’t Want to Hear About It Anymore,” and “Just a Little Lovin'” and three bonus tracks: an unreleased version of “What Do You Do When Love Dies,” “Willie & Laura Mae Jones” and “That Old Sweet Roll (Hi-De-Ho).” It’s truly a disc deserving of its classic status. — Richie Unterberger

Track Listing:

Side One
No. Title Writer(s) Length
1. “Just a Little Lovin'” Barry Mann, Cynthia Weil 2:19
2. “So Much Love” Gerry Goffin, Carole King 3:33
3. “Son of a Preacher Man” John Hurley, Ronnie Wilkins 2:28
4. “I Don’t Want to Hear It Anymore” Randy Newman 3:12
5. “Don’t Forget About Me” Goffin, King 2:54
6. “Breakfast in Bed” Eddie Hinton, Donnie Fritts 2:59
Side Two
No. Title Writer(s) Length
7. “Just One Smile” Newman 2:44
8. “The Windmills of Your Mind” Alan and Marilyn Bergman, Michel Legrand 3:54
9. “In the Land of Make Believe” Burt Bacharach, Hal David 2:34
10. “No Easy Way Down” Goffin, King 3:11
11. “I Can’t Make It Alone” Goffin, King 4:01
Total length: 33:31


Schill Score: 8.5/10


Listen to Full Album