Spirit – Twelve Dreams Of Dr Sardonicus (1970)

AllMusic Review: Although Twelve Dreams of Dr. Sardonicus has the reputation of being Spirit’s most far-out album, it actually contains the most disciplined songwriting and playing of the original lineup, cutting back on some of the drifting and offering some of their more melodic tunes. The lilting “Nature’s Way” was the most endearing FM standard on the album, which also included some of Spirit’s best songs in “Animal Zoo” and “Mr. Skin.” [The 1996 CD reissue has four bonus tracks, though these are on the nonessential side: mono versions of “Animal Zoo” and “Morning Will Come,” the 1970 single “Red Light Roll On,” and the previously unissued “Rougher Road.”] — Richie Unterberger

Track Listing

All songs written by Randy California except noted:

Side one
No. Title Writer(s) Length
1. “Prelude – Nothin’ to Hide” 3:41
2. “Nature’s Way” 2:30
3. “Animal Zoo” Ferguson 3:20
4. “Love Has Found a Way” California, Locke 2:42
5. “Why Can’t I Be Free?” 1:03
6. “Mr. Skin” Ferguson 3:50
Side two
No. Title Writer(s) Length
7. “Space Child (instrumental)” Locke 3:26
8. “When I Touch You” Ferguson 5:35
9. “Street Worm” Ferguson 3:40
10. “Life Has Just Begun” 3:22
11. “Morning Will Come” 2:58
12. “Soldier” 2:43


Schill Score: 8/10


Listen to Album