Sex Pistols – Never Mind The Bollocks, Here’s The Sex Pistols (1977)

AllMusic Review: While mostly accurate, dismissing Never Mind the Bollocks as merely a series of loud, ragged midtempo rockers with a harsh, grating vocalist and not much melody would be a terrible error. Already anthemic songs are rendered positively transcendent by Johnny Rotten’s rabid, foaming delivery. His bitterly sarcastic attacks on pretentious affectation and the very foundations of British society were all carried out in the most confrontational, impolite manner possible. Most imitators of the Pistols’ angry nihilism missed the point: underneath the shock tactics and theatrical negativity were social critiques carefully designed for maximum impact. Never Mind the Bollocks perfectly articulated the frustration, rage, and dissatisfaction of the British working class with the establishment, a spirit quick to translate itself to strictly rock & roll terms. The Pistols paved the way for countless other bands to make similarly rebellious statements, but arguably none were as daring or effective. It’s easy to see how the band’s roaring energy, overwhelmingly snotty attitude, and Rotten’s furious ranting sparked a musical revolution, and those qualities haven’t diminished one bit over time. Never Mind the Bollocks is simply one of the greatest, most inspiring rock records of all time. — Steve Huey

Track Listing

All tracks are written by Paul Cook, Steve Jones, Glen Matlock and Johnny Rotten except where noted.

Side one
No. Title Writer(s) Length
1. “Holidays in the Sun” Paul Cook, Steve Jones, Johnny Rotten, Sid Vicious 3:22
2. “Liar” 2:41
3. “No Feelings” 2:53
4. “God Save the Queen” 3:20
5. “Problems” 4:11
Side two
No. Title Writer(s) Length
6. “Seventeen” 2:02
7. “Anarchy in the U.K.” 3:32
8. “Bodies” Cook, Jones, Rotten, Vicious 3:03
9. “Pretty Vacant” 3:18
10. “New York” 3:07
11. “E.M.I.” 3:10


Schill Score:  10/10

Schill Comment:  Without this album, there is no Punk Rock.  No Question


Listen to Album